Reduced Cultural Sensitivity test programme (RCS)

The Reduced Cultural Sensitivity test programme (RCS) consists of three capacity tests: Categories TPI, Mosaics TPI and Non-Verbal Analogies TPI.

These capacity tests were developed together with Peter Tellegen of the University of Groningen (RUG). The assessments are adaptions of a non-verbal intelligence test and therefore less culturally sensitive. This means that a candidate’s social and cultural background has less impact on the process.

Test scores are processed into a total score. The reliability of the subtests and their interdependent cohesion can be clearly illustrated. This test programme is recommended when the diversity of a candidate’s cultural background needs to be taken into account. The language proficiency level of the instructions is low (A2-B1) and the tests are also available in English.


The three subtests of the Reduced Cultural Sensitivity test programme are discussed below:


Categories measure abstract reasoning ability. Candidates need to draw abstract conclusions from visual stimuli. Every assignment consists of three visuals that form one category. Two visuals that supplement the category need to be chosen from five response options.

Category Example


Mosaics measure spatial reasoning. The test can be applied in selection procedures, primarily for job positions that require a command of spatial reasoning.

Mosaics Example

Non-Verbal Analogies

Non-Verbal Analogies measure abstract reasoning capacity. The test can be applied in selection procedures aimed at job positions that require a command of abstract reasoning capacity.

Non-Verbal Analogies Example